City Council

About City Council

Mayor and City Council

In 1975, the South Carolina Legislature enacted into law Act No. 283 which is now known as “The Home Rule Act.” This Act required municipalities to adopt by ordinance one of the three prescribed forms of local government. On September 7, 1976, the City of Gaffney adopted the Council Form of Government. The legislative body of the government of the City of Gaffney is comprised of a Mayor and six Council members. The City is divided into six districts and each district is represented by a Council member who resides in the district. The Mayor is elected at-large by the citizens and serves four-year terms. Members of City Council serve four-year terms and are elected by the voters of the district in which they reside. Elections are held every two years (even-numbered years) and are held on the second Tuesday of August.

Mayor Henry L. Jolly

Councilman Harold D. Littlejohn Sr. – District 1 Councilman Glenn Fuller – District 4
Councilwoman Stephanie Smith – District 2 Councilman Kim F. Phillips – District 5
Councilwoman Monita Dawkins – District 3 Councilman Billy Love – District 6

For contact information for the Mayor and City Council, please call (864) 487-6247.

About City Council


Front Row L-R: Councilwoman Monita Dawkins (District 3) , Mayor Henry L. Jolly and Councilwoman Stephanie Smith (District 2)

Back Row L-R: Councilman Kim F. Phillips (District 5), Councilman Harold Littlejohn (District 1), Councilman Billy Love (District 6) and Councilman Glenn Fuller (District 4)

Subscribe Section